Day 0: Back for the fourth time. Also, goodbye rows!

Day Zero of my fourth year at VMHS, and I don’t think I have ever been this excited to start the year. No, really. A lot of reading on school-to-prison pipeline over the summer has given me a different perspective about my role in a student’s life and my expectations of students. More on this to come later, I’m sure.

Last year, I made a concerted effort to minimize my lecture time, and I’m happy with the results. This year, I want to continue cutting lecture out from my instruction with the goal of getting it as close to non-existent as possible.

I’m taking another small step towards making my class more student-centered by arranging my desks in groups instead of rows. Not exactly groundbreaking (though you’d probably be surprised how rare it is at the high school level), but I like the message it will send on the first day. At the very least, now I don’t have to be so anal about restoring desk formation after they have been pushed around the room during a lab or a board meeting.

One thought on “Day 0: Back for the fourth time. Also, goodbye rows!

Leave a Reply

